San Patricio County Property Tax & Sales Tax
San Patricio County's own adopted property tax rate is $0.409761 per $100 of value (about 0.41%) for the 2025 tax year - a maintenance-and-operations rate of $0.372516 plus a debt (I&S) rate of $0.037245 - and it is only the San Patricio County government's portion. Your actual bill adds the other units that cover your parcel: on a typical City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel it stacks the school district, the city, and the county, for a nominal combined rate of about $2.23 per $100. On the county median home value of $180,400 that nominal stack works out to roughly $4,030 a year, while a homesteaded bill is lower. The typical TOTAL effective rate is about 1.53% of market value - a Census ACS estimate (median real estate taxes paid $2,754 / median home value $180,400, ACS 2023 5-year). Property taxes are due January 31. Portland, on the north shore of Corpus Christi Bay, is the county's largest city; Sinton is the county seat. Texas has no annual car tax, and the combined sales tax in Portland is 8.25%.
Data current as of September 2026. County rate and the Portland stack from the San Patricio County Truth-in-Taxation 26.16 summary (2025 adopted rates); typical effective rate from Census ACS 2023 5-year estimates. See official sources.
Pay or look up your bill: use the official San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector at sanpatriciocountytx.gov, or search and pay directly through the county's online portal at actweb.acttax.com. Appraised values, homestead exemptions, and protests are handled by the San Patricio County Appraisal District at sanpatcad.org.
Key Takeaways
- Two numbers, not one: San Patricio County's own rate is $0.409761 per $100 (0.41%); the typical total effective rate across all taxing units is about 1.53% of market value (a Census ACS estimate).
- The nominal combined rate is about $2.23 per $100 (~2.23%) on a City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel, stacking school, city, and county.
- The county rate is $0.409761, made up of maintenance-and-operations ($0.372516) plus debt ($0.037245).
- Gregory-Portland ISD is $1.104600 for 2025 (M&O $0.764600 + debt $0.340000) - about 49% of a Portland parcel's combined bill.
- There is no county sales tax. San Patricio County levies no countywide sales tax, so outside a city the rate is just 6.25%; in Portland the combined rate is 8.25% (state + 2.0% city).
- No hospital or community-college district sits in a typical Portland stack; a San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) applies in its service area only.
- The statewide school-district homestead exemption is $140,000 for 2025 (plus $60,000 more for owners 65 or older).
- Texas has no annual car/vehicle property tax. Instead there is a one-time 6.25% motor-vehicle sales tax at purchase plus a flat annual registration fee.
- Bills are due January 31 and become delinquent February 1; the statewide protest deadline is May 15.
San Patricio County Tax Rates - At a Glance
| Tax Type | Rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Property Tax (combined) | ~2.23% of value | No single county rate - the sum of school district, city, and county on a City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel. Representative nominal stack; typical effective rate runs about 1.53% of market value. |
| County's own rate | $0.409761 / $100 | San Patricio County government portion only: M&O $0.372516 + debt (I&S) $0.037245 |
| Hospital / college district | None in the Portland stack | No countywide hospital or community-college district; a San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) applies in its service area only |
| Annual Vehicle (Car) Tax | None | Texas levies no annual value-based vehicle property tax |
| Sales Tax | 8.25% | 6.25% state + 2.00% city (Portland); no county sales tax; groceries and most unprepared food exempt |
| Homestead Exemption | $140,000 school + 10% cap | Statutory school-district homestead; over-65 owners get an additional $60,000 school exemption. |
| Due Date | January 31 | Delinquent February 1; statewide protest deadline May 15 |
San Patricio County Property Tax
San Patricio County property tax comes in two numbers that are easy to confuse. The county's own adopted rate is $0.409761 per $100 of value for the 2025 tax year - and it is only the San Patricio County government's portion. Your actual bill is the sum of every overlapping taxing unit that covers your parcel: your school district, your city (if any), and the county. Combined, the typical total effective rate in San Patricio County is about 1.53% of market value - an estimate from Census ACS 2023 5-year data (median real estate taxes paid $2,754 divided by median home value $180,400). Because the mix of taxing units differs from parcel to parcel, there is no single "San Patricio County rate" for a full bill; the figures below are worked examples.
San Patricio County's own rate of $0.409761 is made up of a maintenance-and-operations rate ($0.372516) and a debt (I&S) rate ($0.037245). There is no countywide hospital or community-college taxing district; a San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) applies in its service area only, so it is not part of the representative Portland stack below. Portland, on the north shore of Corpus Christi Bay, is the county's largest city and its stretch around Gregory anchors a major petrochemical and industrial corridor; Sinton is the county seat.
How a typical San Patricio County (City of Portland) bill is built (taxing-unit stack)
| Taxing unit | Rate /$100 | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Gregory-Portland ISD | $1.104600 | School |
| City of Portland | $0.718946 | City |
| San Patricio County | $0.409761 | County |
| Nominal total | ~$2.233307 | ~2.23% |
Rates from the San Patricio County Truth-in-Taxation 26.16 summary (2025 tax year). This example is for a City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel; your total depends on your city and school district. Other school districts include Sinton ISD ($1.235200), Ingleside ISD ($0.825814), Aransas Pass ISD ($0.808800), Odem-Edroy ISD ($1.185000), Taft ISD ($1.241600), and Mathis ISD ($1.159400). Unincorporated Gregory-Portland ISD parcels pay no city rate (about $1.514361 combined). A San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) applies in part of the county.
Where your property-tax dollar goes
On a typical City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel, Gregory-Portland ISD is about 49.5% of the nominal bill ($1.1046 / $2.2333 nominal total), the City of Portland about 32.2%, and San Patricio County about 18.3%. Percentages are rounded and use the nominal posted rates before any exemption - after the $140,000 school-district homestead exemption the taxable amount drops sharply, which is part of why the county's typical effective rate (about 1.53%) sits below the nominal stacked rate (about 2.23%).
Your total varies by school district and city. The example above is a City of Portland combination. Parcels in Sinton, Ingleside, Aransas Pass, Odem-Edroy, Taft, or Mathis ISD use a different school stack, unincorporated parcels have no city rate at all, and some parcels also carry the San Patricio County Drainage District. Look up your parcel's exact rates on the official Truth-in-Taxation site: texas.gov/propertytaxes.
Who appraises, bills, and collects in San Patricio County
- The San Patricio County Appraisal District sets appraised values, processes homestead exemptions, and runs protests, at sanpatcad.org.
- The San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector collects the property tax and also handles vehicle registration and titling, at sanpatriciocountytx.gov (pay online at actweb.acttax.com).
For value questions, start with the appraisal district; to pay, start with the San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector.
Homestead exemption, the 10% cap, and key dates
If you own and occupy your home as your principal residence on January 1, you can claim a residence homestead exemption, and you generally apply through the San Patricio County Appraisal District. For a Gregory-Portland ISD parcel, the statewide school-district exemption removes $140,000 from the value the school district taxes for the 2025 tax year. If the owner is 65 or older, an additional $60,000 ISD exemption applies.
Some San Patricio County cities also grant local-option homestead exemptions, but the exact per-unit amounts vary and were not fully extracted in this pass. Because those interact with each unit's own value, the calculator below models only the statutory $140,000 school-district homestead and treats its output as the conservative (high) end - a real over-65 homestead bill is lower. Confirm the exact exemptions on your account with the San Patricio County Appraisal District.
Separately, the 10% homestead appraisal cap limits how much your homestead's appraised (taxed) value can rise to 10% per year, not counting new improvements. The cap applies to the appraised value used for your bill, not the market value the appraisal district sets, and it starts the year after you first qualify for the homestead exemption.
Key dates: payment is due January 31 and unpaid amounts become delinquent February 1. The statewide protest deadline is May 15 or 30 days after your appraisal notice is delivered, whichever is later. Texas Tax Code Section 1.06 rolls any deadline that falls on a weekend or holiday to the next business day. We were not able to extract a San Patricio County-specific delinquent penalty-and-interest schedule from an official source in this pass, so no penalty percentages are stated on this page.
How to protest your appraisal
Protests go to the San Patricio County Appraisal District, which publishes its protest procedures and deadlines and runs the property search and appeals process. File and track everything at sanpatcad.org. Some private firms offer to handle protests for a percentage of any tax savings; such firms exist and charge a contingency fee, but we do not cite any savings figure or success rate as fact - results vary by parcel and year.
Estimate your San Patricio County property tax
Uses a typical City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD taxing-unit stack (school + city + county). The homestead exemption is applied to the school-district unit only, the way the statewide exemption works. Any local-option city homestead exemptions are not modeled, so a real Portland homestead parcel will come in below this estimate.
| Market value | |
| Est. taxable value (school district, after exemption) | |
| Estimated annual property tax | |
| Monthly equivalent | |
| Effective rate |
Estimate only, using a typical City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD taxing-unit stack and applying the homestead exemption to the school-district unit only. Local-option city homestead amounts are not modeled. A Sinton, Ingleside, Aransas Pass, Odem-Edroy, Taft, Mathis, or unincorporated parcel uses a different stack. Look up your parcel with the San Patricio County Appraisal District (sanpatcad.org) and on Truth-in-Taxation (texas.gov/propertytaxes).
Sources: San Patricio County Truth-in-Taxation 26.16 summary (2025 tax rates) (county rate and the Portland-area unit rates), the San Patricio County Appraisal District (appraised values and exemptions), the Texas Comptroller (sales tax), and Census ACS 2023 5-year estimates (typical effective rate). See the tax guides for how Texas homestead, protest, and appraisal-cap rules work.
Vehicle Taxes in Texas
Unlike many states, Texas does not levy an annual value-based property tax on cars or other vehicles. There is no yearly "car tax" bill in San Patricio County. Instead, vehicle taxes in Texas work two ways:
- One-time motor-vehicle sales/use tax of 6.25% at purchase. For a private-party sale, the tax is charged on the greater of the actual sales price or 80% of the vehicle's Standard Presumptive Value (SPV). A vehicle received as a gift is taxed at a flat $10 instead.
- A flat annual registration fee (plus any local add-ons), which is a fixed fee, not a tax on the vehicle's value. In San Patricio County you register and title through the San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector.
So if you searched for a Texas car or vehicle sales tax, the answer is the one-time 6.25% charged when the vehicle is titled - there is no recurring vehicle property tax to budget for each year.
San Patricio County Sales Tax
The combined sales tax rate in the City of Portland is 8.25% - the Texas maximum. It is made up of the 6.25% state rate plus a 2.00% City of Portland rate. San Patricio County does not levy its own county sales tax, so outside a city the rate is just the 6.25% state rate. Texas law caps the total local portion at 2.0%, so once the city's 2.00% is applied, no further local rate can stack on top - which is why 8.25% is the maximum combined sales tax here.
| Component | Rate |
|---|---|
| Texas state rate | 6.25% |
| City of Portland (local) | 2.00% |
| Combined rate | 8.25% |
The 2.00% local share is the maximum Texas allows and here is the City of Portland rate; San Patricio County levies no county sales tax, so outside city limits the rate is 6.25%. The exact city-versus-economic-development split of the Portland local rate varies. Groceries and most unprepared food are exempt from sales tax.
Real Example: a $180,400 Portland Home
Here is how the numbers flow on a representative $180,400 City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD home (the county median value) with a homestead exemption (owner under 65), applying only the school-district homestead to the school unit:
- Market value: $180,400.
- Homestead exemption: the $140,000 school-district exemption drops the Gregory-Portland ISD taxable value to $40,400. The other units tax the full $180,400 in this simplified example.
- Stacked total: school $40,400 × 1.104600% = ~$446; city $180,400 × 0.718946% = ~$1,297; county $180,400 × 0.409761% = ~$739.
- Estimated annual bill: about $2,482 per year.
- Monthly equivalent: about $207 per month.
- Effective rate: about 1.38% of market value in this simplified example.
How this compares to the county-wide median. The Census ACS county-wide median bill is about $2,754 (roughly 1.53% effective). This Portland city example lands a little below it because it applies the school homestead on a median-value home. A homesteaded parcel with no city rate (school + county, roughly $1,185 on the same $180,400 value) would pay closer to 0.66%, and a real over-65 homestead - with the extra $60,000 school exemption and the school-tax ceiling - would be lower still. A non-homestead $180,400 Portland parcel would pay closer to the full nominal ~2.23%, or about $4,029.
Limitations:
- Your total varies by school district and city; a Sinton, Ingleside, Aransas Pass, Odem-Edroy, Taft, Mathis, or unincorporated parcel uses a different stack.
- Local-option city homestead exemptions (and over-65, disability, and disabled-veteran exemptions) are not modeled in the simplified example above; this example applies only the school-district homestead, so a real homesteaded city bill is lower.
- The San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) is not included in the representative stack and applies only in its service area.
- San Patricio County's exact delinquent penalty-and-interest schedule was not available from an official source in this pass and is not stated here.
- This is an estimate, not a parcel-exact bill. The typical effective rate is a Census ACS estimate, not a guaranteed rate.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the San Patricio County property tax rate for 2025?
San Patricio County's own adopted rate for tax year 2025 is $0.409761 per $100 of value (about 0.41%), made up of a maintenance-and-operations rate of $0.372516 and a debt (I&S) rate of $0.037245. That is the San Patricio County government's portion only. On a City of Portland parcel inside Gregory-Portland ISD the full stack is about $2.23 per $100 (about 2.23%) once the school district, the city, and the county are added together. The typical total effective rate across the county is about 1.53% of market value, a Census ACS 2023 5-year estimate.
Does San Patricio County have a county sales tax?
No. San Patricio County does not levy a countywide county sales tax, so outside a city the rate is just the 6.25% state rate. In the City of Portland the combined rate is 8.25% - the Texas maximum - made up of 6.25% state plus a 2.00% City of Portland rate. Texas caps the total local share at 2.0%, so 8.25% is the most that can be charged. Groceries and most unprepared food are exempt.
How much is the Gregory-Portland ISD tax rate?
Gregory-Portland ISD's adopted rate for the 2025 tax year is $1.104600 per $100, made up of a maintenance-and-operations rate of $0.764600 and a debt (I&S) rate of $0.340000. The school district is the largest single line on a Portland parcel - about 49% of the combined bill. The statewide school-district homestead exemption of $140,000 applies to the Gregory-Portland ISD portion (plus $60,000 more for owners 65 or older). The county's other school districts include Sinton ISD ($1.235200), Ingleside ISD ($0.825814), Aransas Pass ISD ($0.808800), Odem-Edroy ISD ($1.185000), Taft ISD ($1.241600), and Mathis ISD ($1.159400).
Which city is largest in San Patricio County, and what does a Portland bill look like?
Portland, on the north shore of Corpus Christi Bay, is the county's largest city; Sinton is the county seat. On a City of Portland / Gregory-Portland ISD parcel the nominal combined rate is about $2.23 per $100: Gregory-Portland ISD $1.104600 + City of Portland $0.718946 + San Patricio County $0.409761. Portland's own rate for 2025 is $0.718946 (M&O $0.470785 + I&S $0.248161).
Does San Patricio County have a hospital or community college tax?
On a typical City of Portland parcel there is no countywide hospital or community-college taxing district in the stack. The county does have a San Patricio County Drainage District ($0.055063) that applies in its service area; whether a given parcel is inside the drainage district varies, so it is not included in the representative Portland stack on this page. Confirm your parcel's exact units with the San Patricio County Appraisal District.
Does San Patricio County have an annual car tax?
No. Texas does not levy an annual value-based property tax on vehicles, so there is no yearly car tax bill in San Patricio County. Instead there is a one-time motor-vehicle sales/use tax of 6.25% at purchase (on the greater of the sales price or 80% of the Standard Presumptive Value for a private-party sale; a gift is taxed at a flat $10), plus a flat annual registration fee handled through the San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector.
Next Steps
- File your homestead exemption with the San Patricio County Appraisal District at sanpatcad.org - and claim any local-option and over-65 exemptions you qualify for.
- Protest your appraisal by May 15 if your value looks too high.
- Pay or look up your bill through the San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector at actweb.acttax.com.
- Look up your exact parcel rates on the official Truth-in-Taxation site at texas.gov/propertytaxes.
- Compare with other Texas counties - see all counties on the Texas property tax comparison.
Texas Property Tax Tools
Property Tax Cap Calculator
Will your taxes go up? Project next year's taxable value under the 10% homestead appraisal cap.
LiveProperty Tax Protest Calculator
Should you protest? Estimate the annual savings, plus the May 15 protest and April 30 exemption deadlines.
LiveOver-65 Property Tax Calculator
Over-65 exemption and school-tax ceiling (freeze) estimate.
LiveCounty Tax Comparison
Compare this county's tax to other Texas metros on the same home value.
LiveOfficial Sources
-
San Patricio County - Truth-in-Taxation 26.16 Summary (2025 Tax Rates)
Official source for the San Patricio County adopted rate for tax year 2025: M&O $0.372516 + debt (I&S) $0.037245 = $0.409761. The same 5-year summary lists every taxing unit (Gregory-Portland ISD $1.104600, City of Portland $0.718946, Sinton ISD $1.235200, City of Sinton $0.787352, Ingleside ISD $0.825814, Aransas Pass ISD $0.808800, Odem-Edroy ISD $1.185000, Taft ISD $1.241600, Mathis ISD $1.159400, San Patricio County Drainage District $0.055063), each with its M&O and debt split.
sanpatriciocountytx.gov (Tax Assessor-Collector) - last verified September 2026 -
San Patricio County Appraisal District
The appraisal district sets appraised values and processes homestead and over-65 exemptions and protests for all San Patricio County taxing entities. Located in Sinton.
sanpatcad.org - last verified September 2026 -
San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector
Official county tax office that collects property tax and handles vehicle registration and titling; pay online via the county's ACT web portal.
actweb.acttax.com (San Patricio) - last verified September 2026 -
Texas Comptroller - Sales and Use Tax
Official source for the 6.25% state rate, the 2.0% local cap, and the combined 8.25% rate in the City of Portland (2.00% city). San Patricio County levies no county sales tax, so outside a city the rate is 6.25%.
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/sales - last verified September 2026 -
U.S. Census Bureau - American Community Survey (ACS) 2023 5-year
Source for the typical total effective property tax rate estimate (median real estate taxes paid $2,754 / median home value $180,400), the county population (69,519) and median household income ($67,512). This effective rate is an estimate, not an official adopted rate.
data.census.gov - last verified September 2026
Data current as of September 2026. The San Patricio County adopted rate and the Portland-area unit rates come from the San Patricio County Truth-in-Taxation 26.16 summary (2025 tax rates). Several items are handled conservatively because they could not be fully verified from an official source in this pass: San Patricio County's specific delinquent penalty-and-interest schedule (not stated on this page), the exact local-option city homestead exemption amounts (the calculator omits them, so it runs high), the exact service-area coverage of the San Patricio County Drainage District, the exact city-versus-economic-development split of the Portland sales tax, and the deep parcel-pay URL. The typical effective rate is a Census ACS estimate. Rates and dates change. Verify current figures with the San Patricio County Appraisal District and the San Patricio County Tax Assessor-Collector before making financial decisions based on this page.
Nearby Texas Counties
San Patricio County sits on the north shore of Corpus Christi Bay, with Portland as its largest city and Sinton as the county seat. Compare San Patricio County with the Texas counties we cover:
- Nueces County (Corpus Christi, across the bay to the south)
- Victoria County (Victoria, to the northeast)
- Cameron County (Brownsville, to the south)
- Hidalgo County (McAllen, to the southwest)
For statewide context, see Texas Property Tax & Sales Tax by County.
Texas Property Tax Map
The Texas counties with published tax rates are shaded by their combined property tax rate. This county is highlighted - select any other to compare.
Loading map…